top of page

Loungewear: Comfortable Yet Classy

Hello all! May was a busy month for me, between finals week and searching for apartments, it was A LOT. And let me tell you, apartment hunting is very STRESSFUL. In New York City, these places go fast, the application process is hell, and then you just have to wait to see if they even want you living in the building. During the search, I would go to Pinterest to destress, and look at a board I had with ideas for my bedroom and how I would decorate it once I finally locked a place down. A few photos I had saved to this board emitted calmness, and included snaps of aesthetic girls in face masks, a nice drink in hand, wearing cozy loungewear sets. I wanted loungewear sets because of them. I wanted to relax in my new apartment. Well, I needed to find one first.


To be honest, I didn't really think anything of loungewear until the pandemic of 2020 happened. I'd chill at home in an old tee and sweats. But when people had to stay home and work remotely, I noticed that a huge demand in loungewear surged, and I would see ads for these really cute sets pop up in my Instagram story feeds. Soon enough, I began to want sets for myself because it just seemed more fashionable to wear a set that wasn't a ratty old t-shirt, but instead a uniform, classy look.


According to True & Co, loungewear falls somewhere between athleisure and sleepwear. Loungewear is meant to be the middle ground that many seek in order to escape tightly fitting clothes like business wear, but also not just wear pajamas all day. Wearing pajamas all day can lead to a person feeling unaccomplished and like the day is wasted. At least, that's how I feel whenever that happens to me. Basically, loungewear is casual attire that makes you feel highly comfortable while keeping an appropriate look. according to Uniqlo. So loungewear is not out-of-bed pajamas that are way too cozy and casual. It is also not jeans which is less casual and comfortable than the loungewear.


I really like the monochromatic look that the loungewear looks I selected for this article have. Monochrome is just very classy (you can read my blog post about monochromatic business looks here), and although not many of the models in these photos are wearing jewelry, I've found that layering gold jewelry over loungewear can really just elevate the whole look.


Examples of Black Women in Loungewear

(Photos are from Pinterest)


Do you guys own loungewear sets? And if you don't, do you now want to toss those grubby old high school tees and sweatpants in exchange for a comfy yet classy set that makes you feel a bit more put together?


Happy Fashion Friday!

Arrivederci,

Brianna




18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

  • YouTube
  • Instagram

©2020 by Renaissance Woman. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page