top of page

The Dark Academia Aesthetic

Dark Academia in the City


flipping through notes on the commute to school

re-reading and soaking up knowledge.

studying for hours on end in the nearby coffee shop

frantically jotting notes with a black ink pen.

you whisper phrases in

latin

greek

italian

desperately wanting to learn more.

alone at the museum you stand surrounded by history

seeing the pieces you've been tested on.

the sky darkens unleashes rain

making the skyscrapers glisten.

classical music playing in your ears as you

make your way home.

ordering takeout for study group

you all have a long night ahead.

passages and questions swirl your mind

but the sounds of the city lull you to sleep.

you are a dark academic in love with learning.

- b.p.


Dark Academia Aesthetic


I attend a private college in New York City that provides a classical education, meaning that I've taken classes on philosophy and ancient Greek history, reading works by Plato and learning about Sparta (I wrote a 13 page final paper about the cultural similarities and differences between Spartan and Athenian women!). It's not something that everyone cares for, but I find it interesting. I've been in love with school since I was little, and I was introduced to the classical style of learning then. Now that I'm older and academia has become an aesthetic, I consider it a part of myself, always. I am always learning and love learning.


Personally, I view academia in two forms: light academia and dark academia. To me, dark academia goes with the season where school begins: autumn. So I associate it with the autumn and winter months, whereas I view light academia as a style to wear in the spring. I also associate dark academia with, ta-da, dark things. This includes studying at night, events that take place in theaters and opera houses, reading in the library till dark, leaving a coffee shop at dusk fulfilled after finishing homework, and walking past all the glittering skyscrapers, finally commuting home on the train after a full day of class.


The dark academia aesthetic is one that many lovers of learning have embraced. Many take dark academia and make it their own, but essentially it's an aesthetic centered on higher education, writing, the arts, romantic longing and classic Greek and Gothic architecture.


1930s and 1940s fashion, especially clothing items worn by students at Oxford, Ivy League schools, and prep schools of that time period, are associated with the dark academia aesthetic. However, while researching dark academia, like many other things, it was difficult finding black women dressed in this style.


Some of the articles of clothing most associated with the aesthetic are cardigans, blazers, plaid skirts, Oxford shoes, and clothing made of houndstooth and tweed. I would also include turtlenecks and trench coats. The color tones in dark academia fashion go along with the name, so think black, browns, grays, dark greens, and maybe for a pop of color muted orange, burgundy, or dark red.


Examples of how black women can wear Dark Academia Style


Pertaining to literature, I thought I would include one of my favorite dark academia books and TV Series! Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë is a classic and one of my childhood favorites. It has just the right amount of dark tragedy and romance, and now that I'm older, I definitely see themes of dark academia in it. You can also see it in the 1983 BBC TV Series (it is SUPERIOR and the BEST version of the book made film in my opinion), which you can watch if you have Amazon Prime! Someone has also uploaded the episodes to YouTube, and I will link both here:





Have you embraced the dark academia aesthetic? If you like this post, give it a like!


Happy Fashion Friday!

Arrivederci,

Brianna

97 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

  • YouTube
  • Instagram

©2020 by Renaissance Woman. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page