top of page

When your college has a business casual dress code

I go to a small, private, Christian liberal arts college in New York City. It's called the King's College, and I didn't know that it existed until my sophomore year of high school. I looked at their website, their apartment-style dorms, and Christ-centered curriculum and I just fell in love. I knew that King's was where I wanted to spend the next four years. When I visited for a college tour, I was even more intrigued when I saw the students in business casual, the required dress code.


King's is smack dab in Manhattan's Financial District, meaning I pass the New York Stock Exchange almost every day on my way to class and back home (depends if I'm taking the 2 train or R train though, which depends on my mood). The Charging Bull is a five minute walk from my school, always packed with tourists. Because we're practically surrounded by these Wall Street guys every day, King's not only wants us to look like we fit in the scene, but is also prepping students for the professional world once we graduate. Call me crazy, but I actually enjoy getting dressed up for class.


Instead of showing up like this to my 9 am:



I show up like this:





Yes, literally. Do I look dramatic in this golden hour apartment lighting? Also yes.


But really, I love looking my best because it helps me feel my best. That's why I've took to the great app Pinterest to help me discover some business casual styles that rock. As a journalism major, I fit the stereotype and wore a ton of turtlenecks, which I love, but sometimes you gotta switch it up.

All images are from Pinterest.


These each give off a nice "boss girl" vibe. As a business minor, I enjoy wearing blazers and suit sets with a good power shoe. I tend to prefer a comfortable loafer over heels in New York City because whew chile, walking in heels all day isn't the move. Sometimes when I want to hear the power of my heels clicking down the halls, I'll opt for a low heel or platform heel.


Well, we've reached the end. I hope you've enjoyed this first post and choose to stick around for what's to come!




Arrivederci,

Brianna


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

  • YouTube
  • Instagram

©2020 by Renaissance Woman. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page